UDUMA Chronik

UDUMA Chronology

UDUMA (Kisuaheli: help) contributes towards the improvement of medical care in the East of the Democratic Republic Congo. In the last decades, war and mismanagement have led to the complete destruction of all public structures.

1 9 8 7
Medical Laboratory Bwako. Beginning of co-operation with the director Mr. Kakule Masangavuka.

1 9 9 4
Electricity supply for the lab. With the help of the organisations, Terra Tech and Technologie-Transfer Marburg, UDUMA was able to deliver an electricity generator and enabled the relocation of the lab to its new building.

2 0 0 1
Reference lab: As a result of substantial material donations, BWAKO was able to significantly expand its services and has become the most important lab in an area of 1000 km (625 miles).

2 0 0 4
Official opening of the first blood-bank in the Nord-Kivu region. In addition to the blood-bank technology, UDUMA was able to provide an ultrasound and an ECG, the first of their kind in Butembo. Bwako, UDUMA and the town’s dignitaries celebrate this with 200 guests.

2 0 0 6
Self-sufficiency through solar-power. The blood-bank acquires its own solar power station and becomes independent of the inadequate public electricity supply. A Congolese branch of UDUMA is opened in Butembo.

2 0 0 7
The opening of UDUMA RDC, a Congolese branch of our organisation, with an office in Butembo. Henceforth, UDUMA-Projects can be co-ordinated more efficiently on site.

Diagnostics Centre Bwako: Dr. Joy, the eldest daughter of the lab director, takes on the new medical centre at the station and enables comprehensive diagnoses and treatment. In addition, Bwako opens a training centre for lab technicians.

Lab network in the country: Thanks to Mr. Kakule Masangavuka, the establishment of a network of rural labs enables the quick diagnosis of tropical illnesses and the successful implementation of blood-donor campaigns in Butembo and further afield.

back to the top

UDUMA Chronik

UDUMA Chronik

UDUMA (Kisuaheli: Hilfe) leistet Beiträge zur Verbesserung der medizischen Versorgung im Osten der demokratischen Republik Kongo. Hier haben Krieg und Mißwirtschaft während der letzten Jahrzehnte zum völligen Erliegen sämtlicher öffentlicher Strukturen geführt.

1 9 8 7
Medizinsches Labor BWAKO, in Butembo. Beginn der Kooperation mit dem Leiter Mr. Kakule Masangavuka.

1 9 9 4
Strom für das Labor. Mit Hilfe der Organisationen Terra Tech und Technologie-Transfer Marburg, kann UDUMA ein Stromaggregat liefern und ermöglicht dem Labor den Umzug in sein neues Gebäude.

2 0 0 1
Referenzlabor: Durch eine umfangreiche Materialspende kann BWAKO seine Dienste entscheidend erweitern und ist nun das wichtitgste Labor im Umkreis von 1.000 km.

2 0 0 4
Offizielle Eröffnung der ersten Blutbank der Nord-Kivu-Region. Neben der Blutbanktechnik liefert UDUMA ein Ultraschallgerät und ein EKG. Die ersten dieser Art in Butembo. BWAKO feiert mit UDUMA, den Honoratioren der Stadt und 200 Gästen.

2 0 0 6
Autark durch Solarstrom. Die Blutbank erhält eine eigene Solarstation und wird damit unabhängig von der unzureichenden öffentlichen Stromversorgung. In Butembo wird eine kongolesische Sektion von UDUMA eröffnet.

2 0 0 7
Eröffnet »UDUMA RDC«, ein kongolesischer Ableger unserer Organisation, ihr Büro in Butembo. Fortan können UDUMA-Projekte vor Ort noch effektiver koordiniert werden.

Diagnostikzentrum BWAKO: Dr. Joy, die älteste Tochter des Laborleiters, übernimmt als Ärztin die neue medizinische Abteilung der Station und ermöglicht damit umfassendere Diagnosen und Behandlungen. Daneben eröffnet BWAKO ein Ausbildungszentrum für Labortechniker.

Labornetzwerk auf dem Land: Der Aufbau eines Sytems von ländlichen Labors durch Mr. Kakule Masangavuka ermöglicht die rasche Diagnose von Tropenkrankheiten und die Durchführung von Blutspendekampagnen im näheren und weiteren Umfeld von Butembo.

nach oben