UDUMA - Das Labor BWAKO in Butembo

Laboratory Bwako in Butembo

The medical lab is in the Kivu-Province in the Democratic Republic, close to the Ugandan and Rwandan borders. The population has suffered for many years as a result of the persistent civil war.

Zentralafrika, Kartenausschntt D. R. Kongo, Butembo

The need for medical care is critical. Many illnesses are directly linked to malnutrition and poor hygiene. There is one doctor for a population of more than 100, 000 people, plagued by Malaria, AIDS, Typhus and Cholera.

The Laboratory Bwako has a central function in the field of diagnostics and health education. In close collaboration with the resident doctors, a ring of rural supply centres has been established in the last 10 years.

Mr. Kakule Mansangavuka’s goal is to have a central reference lab and a blood-bank for the Kivu-Region. This is an inspired vision, that is however, not possible to achieve in the current situation in Congo, without help from abroad. Through the untiring commitment to the Kivu-Region and with help from material donations, the Laboratory Bwako has become an institution.

Zeitungsartikel über den Generatortransport

In structurally weak regions, decommissioned, fully functional equipment can save lives! A 17 kWh generator from the stockpiles of the former National People’s Army of the GDR, enabled BWAKO to be independent of the unstable electricity supply provided by a coffee farm. As a result, Bwako was able to broaden the spectrum of possible medical tests.

back to the top

UDUMA - Das Labor BWAKO in Butembo

Das Labor BWAKO
in Butembo

Das medizinische Labor liegt in der Kivu-Provinz der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, im Grenzgebiet zu Uganda und Ruanda. Seit Jahren leidet hier die Bevölkerung unter dem anhaltenden Bürgerkrieg.

Zentralafrika, Kartenausschntt D. R. Kongo, Butembo

Die medizinische Versorgungslage ist dramatisch. Viele Erkrankungen stehen in direktem Zusammenhang mit schlechter Ernährung und mangelnder Hygiene. Auf einen Arzt kommt eine Bevölkerung von mehr als 100 000 Menschen, geplagt von Malaria, AIDS, Typhus und Cholera.

Das Labor BWAKO hat eine zentrale Funktion im Bereich Diagnose und Aufklärung. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit den ansässigen Ärzten wurde in den letzen 10 Jahren ein Ring von ländlichen Versorgungsstationen errichtet.

Das Ziel von Mr. Kakule Mansangavuka ist ein Referenz-Labor und eine zentrale Blutbank für die Kivu-Region. Eine mutige Vision, bei den derzeitigen Möglichkeiten im Kongo ohne Hilfe aus dem Ausland aber nicht durchführbar. Durch den unermüdlichen Einsatz für die Kivu-Region und mit Hilfe von Materialspenden, wurde das Labor BWAKO zu einer Institution.

Zeitungsartikel über den Generatortransport

Ausgemusterte funktionsfähige Geräte können in strukturschwachen Gebieten Leben retten! Ein 17 kw-Aggregat aus Beständen der NVA machte BWAKO 1994 unabhängig von der unregelmäßigen Stromversorgung durch eine Kaffeefarm. Das Spektrum der möglichen Tests wurde entscheidend erweitert.

nach oben