2009: NUCLEUS is the future

Since 2000, UDUMA Inc. Köln has been working in Nord-Kivu, helping the people to help themselves. With our help, the medical laboratory BWAKO has been able to develop into the best diagnostics centre in the whole of Nord-Kivu. In 2004, BWAKO, with help from UDUMA, opened the first blood bank within an area of 1000 km in order to cope with the increasing need for professionally tested and constantly cooled blood reserves in this town of 600,000 inhabitants. In 2007, UDUMA was finally able to provide solar power to the laboratory, thereby making the the refrigeration of the blood reserves independent of the unreliable public electricity supplies. Since then, the blood bank has been able to provide a 24-hour service.

NUCLEUS building site

NUCLEUS is the future: polyclinic with a blood bank

The blood bank is integrated into the ‘Programme National de la Transfusion Sanguine’ (PNTS), which is overseen by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).

BWAKO started with the expansion of the station into a diagnostics centre in early 2009. In 2010, the first part of the clinic should be finished. In the future, patients suffering from malaria, typhus, cholera, HIV and tuberculosis will be examined and treated by medical professionals here. With Project NUCLEUS, BWAKO is starting to expand from a lab into a polyclinic, which will enable them to see patients, have a diagnostics lab, a medical treatment centre, and a place to admit critically ill patients, all under one roof.

“The cooperative development work has failed”

The international community has been stoically pumping billions of euros of development aid into the Congo, without measurably changing the terrible situation faced by the population. Thousands of UN peacekeepers are sent into the country without improving the security or stability of the region. The international trade of Congolese natural resources, however, runs like a well-oiled machine.

For more then 10 years, the population of eastern Congo has suffered terribly as a result of the war over gold, diamonds and coltan.

Although the media would like to give us the impression that ethnic conflicts are at the root of the Congo’s ‘civil’ war, the real cause is the developed world’s hunger for natural resources. The industrial nations deliberately support the destabilisation politics of certain neighbouring countries of the Congo. On their orders, these countries drag this resource-rich region into war, in order to simultaneously loot the mines. Even Germany, the world champion of exports, is no exception. While the industrialised nations get rich, the population of the Nord-Kivu region suffers to an unimaginable extent. The medical facilities, amongst others, are gravely lacking.

Butembo Kids

Infant mortality rates for children under 5 stands at 20%

Many children suffer from anaemia which can be treated. Unfortunately, adequate medical facilities, including the necessary medical laboratories, are lacking.

You can be a part of the development of NUCLEUS by making a donation. There are three possible ways of doing this: a one-off donation, a regular contribution or becoming a member of UDUMA

nach oben

2009: Die Zukunft heißt NUCLEUS

UDUMA e.V., Köln, leistet seit 2000 im Nord-Kivu Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe. Das medizinische Labor BWAKO in Butembo konnte sich mit unserer Unterstützung zum besten Diagnose-Labor in der gesamten Nord-Kivu-Region entwickeln. Um dem wachsenden Bedarf an professionell getesteten und konstant gekühlten Blutkonserven in der 600.000 Einwohner zählenden Stadt zu entsprechen, eröffnete BWAKO 2004, mit Hilfe von UDUMA, die erste Blutbank im Umkreis von 1000 km. 2007 konnte UDUMA schliesslich durch die Bereitstellung einer Solarstrom-Anlage dazu beitragen, die Kühlung der Blutbeutel vom labilen öffentlichen Stromnetz abzukoppeln. Seither bietet die Blutbank einen 24-Stunden-Service an.

NUCLEUS building site

Die Zukunft heisst NUCLEUS, Polyklinik mit Blutbank

BWAKO ist integiert in das « Programme National de la Transfusion Sanguine » (PNTS), das unter der Aufsicht des Entwicklungsprogramms der Vereinten Nationen UNDP, steht.

Bereits Anfang 2009 begann BWAKO mit dem Ausbau der Station zum Diagnostikzentrum. 2010 soll der erste Klinikabschnitt fertig werden. Patienten mit Malaria, Typhus, Cholera, AIDS und Tuberkulose, werden hier in Zukunft professionell untersucht und ärztlich behandelt. Um den Patienten unter einem Dach neben einer fundierten Diagnose, zugleich ärztliche Versorgung und bei Bedarf auch stationäre Aufnahme ermöglichen zu können, startete BWAKO mit der Umwandlung der Station in eine Polyklinik, das Projekt NUCLEUS.

„Die Entwicklungszusammenarbeit hat versagt.“

Die Internationale Gemeinschaft pumpt seit Jahren stoisch Milliarden Euro an Entwicklungshilfe in den Kongo, ohne dass sich dadurch die dramatische Situatuion der Bevölkerung messbar verändert. Sie entsendet tausende von Blauhelmsoldaten, ohne dass sich die Sicherheitslage verbessert. Der internationale Handel mit den kongolesischen Bodenschätzen funktioniert dagegen reibungslos!

Seit über zehn Jahren leidet die Bevölkerung im Ostkongo unter dem Krieg um Gold, Diamanten und Coltan.

Während uns die Medien ein Bild vermitteln möchten, wonach vor allem ethnische Konflikte für den „Bürger“-Krieg im Kongo verantwortlich sind, liegt der eigentliche Grund im Rohstoffhunger der Industrienationen. Diese unterstützen ganz bewusst die Destabilisierungspolitik einiger Nachbarländer des Kongo. In ihrem Auftrag überziehen diese die rohstoffreiche Region mit Krieg, um nebenbei die Minen auszuplündern. Auch der Exportweltmeister Deutschland macht da keine Ausnahme! Während sich die Industriestaaten bereichern, leidet die Bevölkerung der Kivu-Region unvorstellbare Not. U.a. ist die medizinische Versorgung völlig unzureichend.

Butembo Kids

Die Kindersterblichkeit bis zum 5. Lebensjahr liegt bei unfassbaren 20%!

Die sehr häufig anzutreffende Blutarmut (Anämie) bei Kindern könnte behandelt werden. Leider fehlt es an den geeigneten medizinischen Versorgungseinrichtungen einschließlich der nötigen medizinischen Laboratorien.

Unterstützen Sie NUCLEUS! Wählen Sie zwischen: - Einzelspende - Förderbeitrag ...und/oder einer UDUMA-Mitgliedschaft

nach oben