UDUMA

A blood-bank
for the Nord-Kivu region

Dear Donors and Friends,

This year, we again kindly ask you for a donation for the medical care in the Eastern regions of the Democratic Republic Congo. The construction of the first blood-bank in the Nord-Kivu region, which was enabled by you, is almost complete.

This large undertaking needed especially thorough planning and preparation. This time, the majority of the complex technical equipment could not be covered by second-hand donations. It was necessary to buy much of the expensive equipment brand-new. A large donation from the St-Ursula Grammar School, Düsseldorf was instrumental in making this possible. Amongst other things, it was necessary to acquire a special refrigerator that could store up to 200 units of blood. Containers for overland transport, quality-control and blood typing tests for the donated blood were also needed.

In addition, we again gratefully received a large amount of second-hand lab and diagnostics equipment from hospitals and doctor’s surgeries, including an ultrasound and a transportable ECG from Dr. Rieke in Düsseldorf. We would also like to thank the St. Johannes Hospital in Sieglar for the donation of a substantial amount of second-hand analysis equipment. As early as October of this year, the complete shipment of material arrived at the Laboratory Bwako in Butembo.

Substantial logistical and financial support was again provided by the Marburg NGO, . Technical examinations and reconditioning of the second-hand equipment was again carried out by Terra TechTechnologie-Transfer Marburg (TTM).

Der Kühlschrank für die Blutkonserven

The Jeep Cherokee, courtesy of Cine of Wheels/Gerhard Willié

In order to implement blood donor campaigns and to deliver blood, the lab needs to be mobile.

It was of great importance, therefore, when the project was given a off-road vehicle. Our thanks go to the company, Cine of Wheels and Mr. Gerhard Willié, for the donation of a Jeep Cherokee, which is well-adapted to the rough terrain around Butembo.

In mid-December 2004, Georg Roloff travelled to Butembo, accompanied by Dr. Thomas Wolff, who oversaw the first blood donor campaign and trained the lab technicians to use the new equipment.

On the 22nd December, we celebrated the opening of the first blood-bank in the region, together with the Governor of Nord-Kivu and the Mayor of Butembo. We are proud and happy that this ambitious project has had a successful conclusion. A very special thanks goes to you, the donors, for your support.

In the next year, UDUMA plans to complete the technical facilities, especially the blood-bank, of the Laboratory Bwako. An important advance would be a refrigerated centrifuge that enables an easier and more rational preparation of the donated blood. We estimate the cost of this to be around €12,000 (£9,000).

Our appeal: Please help us once again with your donations, which greatly improve the medical care in Eastern Congo, one of the most structurally weak regions in the world.

back to the top

UDUMA

Eine Blutbank
für die Nord-Kivu-Region

Sehr geehrte Spender, liebe Freunde,

auch in diesem Jahr möchten wir Sie wieder um eine Spende für die medizinische Versorgung im Osten der Demokratischen Republik Kongo bitten. Der von Ihnen mit unterstützte Aufbau der ersten Blutbank in der Nord-Kivu-Region steht kurz vor der Vollendung.

Diese große Aufgabe erforderte eine besonders umfangreiche Planung und Vorbereitung. Die komplexe technische Ausstattung einer Blutbank konnte diesmal zum großen Teil nicht durch Gebrauchtgeräte abgedeckt werden. Zahlreiche kostspielige Neukäufe waren erforderlich. Vor allem die große Spende des St-Ursula-Gymnasiums, Düsseldorf hat dies möglich gemacht. Unter anderem mußte ein spezieller Kühlschrank, der für die Aufbewahrung von 200 Blutbeuteln ausgelegt ist, angeschafft werden. Daneben Behälter für den Überlandtransport und Tests für die Qualitätskontrolle des Spenderbluts und zur Blutgruppenbestimmung.

Zudem sind aber auch wieder eine Anzahl von gebrauchten Labor- und Diagnosegeräten von Krankenhäusern und Arztpraxen gestiftet worden. Darunter ein Ultraschallgerät und ein transportables EKG von Frau Dr. Rieke in Düsseldorf. Dem St. Johannes-Krankenhaus in Sieglar, danken wir für die Spende mehrerer gebrauchter Analyse-Geräte. Bereits im Oktober dieses Jahres kam die komplette Materialsendung beim Labor BWAKO in Butembo an.

Maßgebliche logistische und finanzielle Unterstützung erhielten wir auch dieses Mal wieder durch die Marburger Hilfsorganisation Terra Tech. Die technische Prüfung und Instandsetzung der Gebrauchtgeräte erfolgte wieder bei Technologie-Transfer Marburg (TTM).

Der Kühlschrank für die Blutkonserven

Der Jeep Cherokee von
Cine of Wheels / Gerhard Willié

Für die geplanten Blutspendekampagnen und die Auslieferung der Blutkonserven an die Krankenhäuser muß das Labor mobil sein.

Von großer Bedeutung für das Projekt war die Beschaffung eines geländegängigen Fahrzeugs. Wir sind der Firma Cine of Wheels und Herrn Gerhard Willié dankbar für den Jeep Cherokee, der alle Voraussetzungen erfüllt, die unwegsamen Pisten in der ländlichen Umgebung von Butembo zu meistern.

Mitte Dezember 2004 reiste Georg Roloff nach Butembo, in Begleitung von Dr. Thomas Wolff, der die erste Blutspendekampagne betreute und das Laborpersonal an den neuen Geräten einarbeitete.

Am 22. Dezember fand in Anwesenheit des Gouverneurs der Provinz Nord-Kivu und des Bürgermeisters von Butembo die feierliche Eröffnung der ersten Blutbank der Region statt. Wir sind stolz und glücklich, dass dieses ehrgeizige Projekt einen erfolgreichen Abschluss gefunden hat. Ihnen, den Spendern, gilt unser besonderer Dank für Ihre Unterstützung.

Für die kommenden Jahre plant UDUMA, die technische Ausstattung des Labors BWAKO, insbesondere die der Blutbank weiter zu komplettieren. Ein wichtiger Schritt wird z.B. eine gekühlte Zentrifuge sein, die die Aufbereitung des Spenderbluts rationeller und einfacher machen soll. Die Kosten liegen bei 12.000 Euro.

Unsere Bitte: Helfen Sie auch in diesem Jahr mit Ihrer Spende, die medizinische Versorgung im östlichen Kongo, einer der strukturschwächsten Gegenden der Erde, zu verbessern.

nach oben